top of page

A Pastor
Who Writes Murder Mysteries

Reverend Jane Willan, the author of the Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery series, loves to set her novels amid church life. She believes that ecclesiology, liturgy, and church lady drama make for twisty plots and quirky characters.


Writer and pastor, she is the first woman to fill the pulpit at First Church West Hartford-- an historic New England church.


When not working at the church or creating new adventures for her characters, Jane relaxes at her favorite local bookstore, enjoying coffee and a variety of carbohydrates with frosting. Otherwise, you might catch her binge-watching Netflix or hiking through the Connecticut woods with her husband and two rescue dogs, Moses and Ollie and cat, Winifred.


The Shadow of Death
“Sprightly...The rich life and personalities of this religious community, coupled with Sister Agatha’s devotion to the sage advice of a retired inspector turned podcaster, guarantee reader impatience for the next installment.”
―Publishers Weekly
The Hour of Death
"Willan’s loving and witty portrayal of convent life in rural Wales will delight lovers of village mysteries. Besides, who doesn’t enjoy reading about a busload of nuns riding to the rescue on Christmas Eve?"
—Publishers Weekly
Abide With Me
"A delightful cozy with a feisty heroine who heads off on a wing and a prayer to solve the mysterious death of the abbey’s sexton. Set against an enchanting Welsh backdrop, this charming cozy will have you glued to the page.”
―Peg Cochran, USA Today bestselling author
Abide With Me
Abide With Me.jpg

Abide With Me

Join old friends and new in Abide With Me, a delightful blend of cozy village characters, sparkling wit, and enough action to keep you turning pages, the third book in the Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn mystery series.

The Hour of Death

As Yuletide settles upon Gwenafwy Abbey, the rural Welsh convent’s peace is shattered when Tiffany Reese, president of the Village Art Society, is found dead on the floor of the parish hall. Sister Agatha, whose interests lie more with reading and writing mystery stories than with making the abbey’s world-renowned organic gouda, is not shy about inserting herself into the case. 

the hour of death.cover.may.2018.jpg
The Shadow of Death

The first book in the Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn series. Sister Agatha feverishly writes her own mystery novel while solving the mystery of the murdered handyman. All the while acting as Abbey librarian and making the award winning Gouda cheese.

Notebook and Pen

I would love to hear from you!  Use this form to send me an email.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page